Menu

Forums - General Chat

All-new Ninehertz culinary thread

•  Rob HimselfRob Himself
    • Couldn't be bothered to find the various old food threads and I'm feeling reet culinary today.

Today I have made chocolate pistachio fudge and potato and halloumi bake, both courtesy of Nigella.

Yum.
    •  HopkinsHopkins
    • That bake is dead nice, made that before

I made canneloni today, all from scratch, even the pasta
    • Hopkins says:

That bake is dead nice, made that before

This is my second attempt - the first time I couldn't get halloumi and she suggested feta as a subsititute. Fucking horrible, tasted like feet. Halloumi's MUCH nicer.
    •  HopkinsHopkins
    • Feta rules
      I love making potato, courgette, feta and mint rostis
    • Halloumi recipes welcome. I'm fast becoming a devotee.
    •  CareyCarey
    • halloumi halloumi halloumi. i'm gonna learn how to cook it myself this year.

i'm a good cook when i can be bothered. my recipe for peanut butter cookies is still being passed around in some circles.
    •  LaddethLaddeth
    • Bernard Mathews Dinosaurs FTW!
    •  JenTheHenJenTheHen
    • Carey says:

halloumi halloumi halloumi.

What Carey said.

On Saturday when I was hung over I made myself roasted veg and cous cous with halloumi. It. Was. Best.
    •  DonnyDonny
    • halloumi is awesome. Sheer greatness
    •  bad admiralbad admiral
    • halloumi is well versatile. i once griddled it in the same pan as some chorizo by accident and it went all red and spicy. yum.

aaaaannnnyyyyway.

this is my favourite halloumi recipe.

you need

bun
      rocket
      halloumi
      sweet potato
      chillies
      coriander
      onions
      olive oil
      salt pepper
      worcester sauce
      griddle pan
      sauce pan
      water

i) cut halloumi and sweet potato into slices about .5 cm thick
      ii) part boil potato for about 10 mins on rolling boil or until it goes a bit soft