Menu

Forums - General Chat

My New Guitar Building plan

•  SheldonSheldon
    • Ok ive been thinking about it and on the side im going to start making aluminium neck guitars with wood bodies similar to the electrical guitar company series one

already talked about it with my engineering guitar building buddy and we are gonna start the drawings next month

it will be cnc machined but using top of the range hardware but it will be simple

the prototype will be fretless

im 100% serious i studied engineering and that was my project for my course but it never got made so it shall be done

likely cost including hardcase and delivery £1500

•  SheldonSheldon
    • That made n osense but you get the idea :-)
    •  PodgePodge
    • i wouldn't go for CNC necks, hella expensive and probably not a good enough finish.

you could probably get some custom tubing made up, though they may want a lot to set the machinery up which you wouldn't need if it was CNC.

anyway, nice idea. i wish i had access to all the machinery i need to build all of my crazy ideas, that would be well good.
    •  tom.atom.a
    • dude this sounds seriously interesting if you ever start making fretted ones i may well have to come check them out.
    •  PodgePodge
    • just curious, but what advantages does an aluminium neck have over a wood one?
    •  Matt_tgpgMatt_tgpg
    • I would think it would handle low tunings better?
    •  DonnyDonny
    • Podge says:

just curious, but what advantages does an aluminium neck have over a wood one?

There's an FAQ on that aluminium guitars site that explains it. All nonsense to me really. Though if they did an Iceman one I'd be all over it.
    •  SheldonSheldon
    • here are my answers to a few questions:

Yes CNC machining is expensive however it can produce a mirror finish on aluminium with the correct tool alot easier than by hand it is also alot more accurate and that is important with metal working